Logging of District Lot 33

Synopsis

The Snaw-naw-as (Nanoose) First Nation are logging 25% of the timber (15,000 cubic metres), primarily Coastal Douglas Fir (CDF) and cedar, from District Lot 33, a 64 hectare block near Nanoose Bay on Vancouver Island. The provincial government granted the right, though a Forest Practices Board review concluded that cutting rights should be deferred until the new CDF protection strategy is in place. Logging began in Nov 2011, with Timberwest lined up to purchase the logs.

Category Forests

Type Logging

Prov BC

Region Vancouver Island

Posted 05Jul10

Updated 31Jan12

 

Status Active

Rare Doug-Fir ForestThreatened by Bureaucratic Foul Up
Annette Tanner, WS September-October 2010

Contacts

LOCAL
COMMUNITY

Wilderness Committee, Mid-Island Chapter, www.wildernesscommittee.org, Annette Tanner, 250-752-6595, wcwcqb(at)shaw.ca

Arrowsmith Parks and Land-Use Council, Berni Pearce, bernipearce(at)shaw.ca

Nanoose Bay Forest, www.nanoosebayforest.com, info(at)nanoosebayforest.com

GOVERNMENT
AGENCIES

Ministry of Forests and Range, www.gov.bc.ca/for/, Hon. Pat Bell, Minister, 250 387-6240, pat.bell.MLA(at)leg.bc.ca

Ministry of Environment, www.gov.bc.ca/env/, Hon. Barry Penner, Minister, 250 387-1187, barry.penner.MLA(at)leg.bc.ca

Ministry of Agriculture and Lands, www.gov.bc.ca/al/, Hon. Steve Thomson, Minister, 250-387-1023, steve.thomson.MLA(at)leg.bc.ca

Ministry of Aboriginal Relations and Reconciliation, www.gov.bc.ca/arr/, Hon. George Abbott, Minister, 250-953-4844, george.abbott.MLA(at)leg.bc.ca

South Island Forest District, www.for.gov.bc.ca/dsi/, Calvin Ross, Acting District Manager, 250-731-3015, Calvin.Ross(at)gov.bc.ca

Forest Practices Board, www.fpb.gov.bc.ca/, 250-213-4700, 800-994-5899, FPBoard(at)gov.bc.ca

ABORIGINAL
GROUPS

Snaw-naw-as (Nanoose) First Nation, www.nanoose.org, Brent Edwards, Band Administrator, 250-390-3661, nfnbandmanager(at)nanoose.org

PROPONENT

Snaw-naw-as (Nanoose) First Nation, www.nanoose.org, Brent Edwards, Band Administrator, 250-390-3661, nfnbandmanager(at)nanoose.org

More information

Location

District Lot 33

Conservatiion of Imperilled Coastal Douglas-fir Ecosystem
Forest Practices Board, June 2010

Sensitive Ecosystem Inventory
Canadian Wildlife Service, 2004

Excellent background information is available at Nanoose Bay Forest.

District Lot 33

Javascript is required to view this map.